September 29, 2022

Australia announce 15-member squad for India tour and T20 World Cup, Tim David has been called up for the first time

Get all cricket updates! follow us on :

Cricket Australia on Thursday September 1 announced a 15-man squad for the upcoming T20 World Cup on home soil. The same team will travel to India for three T20Is later this month, September 20-25. Tim David has sensationally earned his first call-up to play for Australia after making a huge impact in the T20 league globally.

David has so far played 14 T20Is, all for Singapore, scoring 558 runs at a 158.52 strike rate and 46.50 average. Overall, he played 122 T20 games in his career, amassing 2,640 carries at a brilliant 164.17 strike rate with 11 half-centuries under his belt. Certainly, his addition will give the Australians more depth in their batting line-up.

Tim continues to establish himself with quality performances in leagues around the world, earning a place in the squad. He is a very gifted natural ball hitter who will add extra depth of strike to the group which has had great success in T20 cricket. We expect him to play a role similar to the one he has played in recent years,” head coach George Bailey told ESPNCricinfo.

Australia drop Mitchell Swepson

Interestingly, the only change from last year’s T20 World Cup-winning Australian squad was the inclusion of Tim David. Leg spinner Mitchell Swepson was dropped for him while the rest of the band remains the same. It will be interesting to see if David gets a chance in the playing XI. However, skipper Aaron Finch and management would certainly like to see him on the India tour later this month.

As for the rest of the squad, Mitchell Marsh is currently injured but coaches seem confident he will return to full fitness. He picked up the injury in the ongoing ODI series against Zimbabwe and was ruled out of the three-match series. David Warner was rested for the three T20Is in India while Cameron Green will only feature in the squad for the tour.

Australia squad for the 2022 T20 World Cup: Aaron Finch (c), Ashton Agar, Pat Cummins, Tim David, Josh Hazlewood, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Kane Richardson, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis Matthew Wade, David Warner Adam Zampa, Cameron Green (only for the India tour)