May 22, 2022

New Zealand India Tour Test Team: Why isn’t Trent Boult part of the New Zealand India Tour Test Team?

New Zealand Test Squad: New Zealand have announced a strong 15-member Test Squad for their upcoming India tour.

New Zealand have announced a 15-strong test squad for their upcoming India tour, which includes three T20Is and two tests. It is worth mentioning that the two tests will be played in Kanpur and Mumbai.

New Zealand, who last played Test cricket in the ICC World Test Championship final at Southampton, made a total of four changes to their winning side.

While wicketkeeper striker BJ Watling has retired from international cricket, fast bowler Matt Henry appears to have been let go. Versatile Colin de Grandhomme and fast bowler Trent Boult did not make the squad after making themselves unavailable for the tour due to bio-bubble fatigue.

“Trent has already spent the better part of 60 days in difficultly managed isolation this year, while Colin was on the road from May until his recent return from Pakistan.

“From discussions with both players, it was clear that the best option for them was to be left out of this test tour and instead focus on being ready for the summer at home in New Zealand,” New Zealand head coach Gary Stead said in a statement. .

New Zealand India Tour Test Team

Speaking of the players who were included for the aforementioned players, hitter Glenn Phillips, all-rounder Mitchell Santner and spinner Will Somerville earned test returns. Rachin Ravindra, who traveled with the team to England earlier this year but has yet to make his debut, will now travel to India in hopes of making his debut in sub-continental conditions.

New Zealand Test Team – Kane Williamson (c), Tom Blundell (wk), Devon Conway, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Rachin Ravindra, Mitchell Santner, Will Somerville, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Will Young, Neil Wagner.