May 22, 2022

Proteas Tour of India: Harbhajan Explains Why Kohli & Co. have ‘Golden Opportunity’ to Win Test Series in South Africa, Sports News

Team India is expected to tour South Africa for a three-game test series and an equal number of ODIs, starting December 26. After demolishing New Zealand in the second and final test in Mumbai and winning the series 1-0, Virat Kohli led India regained first place in the ICC test standings and will now leave for South Africa the head held high.

While India led by Kohli has impressed everyone on the road, with back-to-back wins in Australia and an unassailable 2-1 lead in England, the national team will have to do their best to beat the Proteas. in the African nation, where India has never won a Test Series.

Indian backspinner veteran Harbhajan Singh believes this is the golden opportunity for India to win a series in the Rainbow Nation. “I think this is the golden opportunity for India to win their first round of testing in South Africa. If we look at their team, they are not as strong as they used to be. Even in the last one. tour, players like AB de Villiers and Faf du Plessis… these guys never allowed India to win there. Although India played well there, it never won a series. and that’s their best chance because their hitter isn’t great, ”Harbhajan said in a video on his YouTube channel.

READ ALSO | Rohit Sharma replaces Ajinkya Rahane as India vice-captain as BCCI announce 18-man squad for SA tests

For the uninitiated, Bhajji played two series – in 2001 and 2010 – in South Africa and came back with 18 wickets in total. On the other hand, India won its very first test on South African soil under current head coach Rahul Dravid in 2006 but lost the series 2-1. Additionally, they fired a three-game test series in 2010, under the guidance of MS Dhoni, but never managed to secure a blank winning streak in South Africa. Will Kohli & Co. turn the tide this time around?

READ ALSO | BCCI drops a bomb! Rohit Sharma replaces Virat Kohli as Indian ODI captain ahead of SA series

India test team: Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohammed Shami, Jasph Yaspkah, Shardul Thaper , Mohammed Siraj.

Waiting players: Navdeep Saini, Saurabh Kumar, Deepak Chahar, Arzan Nagwaswalla