May 22, 2022

Rohit Sharma out of South Africa Indian tour, Priyank Panchal arrives

Rohit Sharma has been excluded from the next round of three-game testing against South Africa after India’s opener suffered a hamstring injury during training in Mumbai on Sunday. Priyank Panchal will replace Rohit in the Indian team. (More news on cricket)

PAK vs WI, 1st T20I Live Blog

India Test vice-captain Rohit Sharma suffered a left hamstring injury during his training session here in Mumbai yesterday. He was excluded from the next round of 3-game tests against South Africa Priyank Panchal will replace Rohit Sharma in the test team, “BCCI said in a statement on Monday.

Rohit, 34, also suffered a blow to the hands in the Mumbai nets while taking shots from Raghavendra aka Raghu. The board have not announced an alternate vice-captain, but KL Rahul is expected to be the favorite to be Virat Kohli’s deputy during testing.

As of yet, the extent of Rohit’s injury is unclear. It is not known if this is a strain that is a less serious injury or a tear, which will need to be classified. The BCCI has yet to share details of its analysis report which will determine the degree of the injury.

We learn that Panchal showed up at the team hotel this evening. Panchal is no newbie as he has 100 first-class matches to his name with 7,011 races, of which 24 hundred. He was part of a high performing team from Gujarat that won the Ranji Trophy under Parthiv Patel.

Panchal has just led India A against South Africa A in three four-day tests. He had previously been called up to an extended test squad in India against England at home. The 31-year-old was also one of India’s first reserve players against England alongside Abhimanyu Easwaran.

India test team: Virat Kohli (captain), KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Priyank Panchal, Shreyas Iyer, Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (wicket keeper), Wriddhiman Saha (wicket keeper), R Ashwin, Jayant Yadav, Ishant Sharma, Mohd. Shami, Umesh Yadav, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Md. Siraj.