September 29, 2022

SA vs IND – Toss Report, India Tour Of South Africa 1st Test

The long-awaited test series between India and South Africa will kick off on December 26 with the first of three tests taking place at Centurion’s SuperSport Park.

Hosts South Africa will have their new skipper, Dean Elgar, for their first round of trials in almost six months. They are still rebuilding their squad after losing two of their all-time greats to AB de Villiers and Faf du Plessis.

Elgar and Quinton de Kock are two of their most experienced drummers and they will be accompanied by a rather inexperienced mid-range. Aiden Markram has shown great form in the white ball formats and it will be interesting to see if he can keep it up in the red ball game.

Quinton de Kock and Dean Elgar (Image credit: Twitter)

The Proteas were dealt a blow before the start of the series as their pace setter, Anrich Nortje, was ruled out of the 3-game Test series with a hip injury. They are stocked with pace bowling options with Kagiso Rabada expected to spearhead the attack.

As for India, stick remains a concern. Rohit Sharma was ruled out with a hamstring injury and he will be greatly missed. KL Rahul and Mayank Agarwal will open for visitors. The middle order will have to come because the conditions will be difficult for the stick.

Mayank Agarwal and KL Rahul, India
Image source: Twitter

In the bowling department, Virat Kohli and co. certainly have the best attacking pace with the trio of Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami and Mohammed Siraj working very well together. Ravichandran Ashwin will likely be the team’s only spinner and his contributions with the bat will also be crucial.

South Africa vs India, 2021: 1st Test, Centurion – Draw Report

The Indian team won the toss in the first Test against South Africa and skipper Virat Kohli decided to strike first at Supersport Park in Centurion.

South Africa vs India, 2021: 1st Test, Centurion – Game Details XI

India (Eleven players): KL Rahul, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Virat Kohli(c), Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant(w), Ravichandran Ashwin, Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Shami, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj

South Africa (Eleven players): Dean Elgar(c), Aiden Markram, Keegan Petersen, Rassie van der Dussen, Temba Bavuma, Quinton de Kock(w), Wiaan Mulder, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Kagiso Rabada, Lungi Ngidi

Also Read- IND vs SA: I wouldn’t play Ajinkya Rahane even if you have 6 batters- Aakash Chopra