May 22, 2022

Virat Kohli-Led Indias Predicted to Play XI and Squad for SA Tour; Ruturaj Gaikwad and Harshal Patel in line for selection

Mumbai: Uncertainty still hangs over the future of the Indian tour in South Africa, thanks to the new variant of COVID-19, Omicron. Multiple reports suggest the two boards – who have been in constant contact with each other – have decided to postpone the tour for a week. During the long-awaited away tour, India are expected to play three Tests, three ODIs and four T20Is.Read also – IPL 2022 | One More Run and Virat Kohli will reach THIS major milestone in IPL

The first India-South Africa test will be played in Johannesburg, followed by the second match at Centurion (December 26) and the third match in Cape Town (January 3). Also Read – IPL 2022: Harbhajan Singh Reckons Jos Buttler Will Break Virat Kohli’s Record If Rajasthan Royals Reach Final

Reports suggest that the T20Is have been postponed. Also Read – IPL 2022: Rohit Sharma Hails Tim David After Mumbai Indians Beat Gujarat Titans

This will be another grueling tour for the Indian team as there would be strict COVID protocols in place due to the emergence of the Omicron variant. The Indian team – which was due to land in South Africa on December 9 – could be late.

So, what will the Indian team look like? The team announcement should be coming soon. It would be a great Indian team traveling to South Africa. A few players like Rishabh Pant, Rohit Sharma and Jasprit Bumrah – who were on a well-deserved break – would join the squad.

India could choose a 20-member squad for the tour. A few new faces would also most likely be part of the tour like Harshal Patel and Rutiraj Gaikwad. Shreyas Iyer, who has been in sublime form at red ball cricket, is also likely to be picked along with Suryakumar Yadav.

Here is the probable Indian squad for the tour and the expected XI for the first test.

Indian cricket team squad for South Africa tour

Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Rishabh Pant, Suryakumar Yadav, Mayank Agarwal, KL Rahul, Cheteshwar Pujara, Shubman Gill, Shreyas Iyer, Ruturaj Gaikwad, Wriddhiman Saha, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav, Mohamed Siraj, Yuzvendra Chahal, Harshal Patel, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Shami.

India likely to play 11 for Test series

Virat Kohli (Captain), Rohit Sharma, Ajinkya Rahane, Cheteshwar Pujara, Mayank Agarwal, Rishabh Pant (Wicket Keeper), Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Axar Patel, Ishant Sharma, Umesh Yadav